Giorno 12: Bob's country - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2017

Giorno 12: Bob's country

Wow another great day! The sun was out, the bike paths were awesome and the whisky was cheap! Ok I made up that last part. But it was still a great day.

I was headed for Trento where the living is easy and whisky is cheap.

It was also another day for apples. Damn they go on for miles, which I am mentioning again because my friend Bob is nuts for apples. Everytime he rides he is stuffing his face with apples. He would love it here.

I met several people today, including two from Chris and Graham's group, who were from Germany named Peter and Werner. We yammered on for a while and they told me all about their trip to the USA and visit to Napa Valley and the culinary institute in Santa Rosa. I told them how my friend Debbie has taken classes there. Six degrees of separation, once again. How can the world get snarled in so many wars when we are so closely tied together?

One of the day's highlights was lunch when I stopped at one of the many bici grills. This particular one was great! I had a great pasta lunch with salad and mineral water. Then, after dinner I ordered coffee like a pro, an Italian pro.

"Espresso coffee?" The waitress asked, thinking i wanted coffee Americana with extra water.

"Yes, espresso." She gave an approving smile. Clearly here was an American woman with class.

The rest of the ride was Hot, really HOT. I rolled into Trento ready for a gelato but instead saw Peter and Werner again, riding to a hotel.

"Are Chris and Graham staying here?" I asked.

They were and came down and had a gelato together.

"Well, i better get going," i eventually told them after scoop 2. "It looks like only about 6 miles to the campground.

Damn I can be an idiot sometime. There was a hell of a climb between there and the campsite! Took me a couple of hours, then when i got there the campground host said, "no room sorry."

"I have a little tent, you have no space?"

They didn't, neither did the next two places. Place three had no space either.

"Cant you find some small patch, or a store room or something?"

But this campground host was really nice and asked her manager, who asked an Austrian lady if i could set up outside here "cocoon" which is like a bubble thing with a bed. It also had a patch of grass.

"Sure you can set up your tent there." Wooo-hooo! The n they only charged me 10 euros.

Some of these European campgrounds are like nothing in America. People are shoehorned in but that doesn't seem to be a problem, and the place is a total resort with activities for everyone and multiple awesome restaurants (where I had pasta with shrimp and the best salad of the trip).

But the place also had what seemed to be a kids activities director, and tonight must have been kids karaoke night because the kids were performing which was hilarious. Some had little acts that were mostly forgotten when the the pressure of the stage was thrust upon them. Or in one case the older sister was really into it and the younger a bit flummoxed, with predictable results.

Would have loved to film it but didn't think the parents would appreciate their kids being on my journal.

Thats about it. A good day all in all.

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 429 miles (690 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0