Dan 20 - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2017

Dan 20

"How did you sleep last night?" Sten asked.

Sten and Katherine are from Belgium and I met them two days ago. Last night they stayed in the same campground as me except they must of have set up in a low spot because during last nights storm they were about ready to float away. I must have been on higher ground, and perhaps I am getting used to thunder and lighting and hell fire storms because I did sleep some. Still, the storms are getting old.

I didnt see them at first but caught them near the border. "Hey Belgiums!" I said when they stopped for a rest.

They are cool! Sten is an environmental researcher and Katherine is a university lecturer. We road to Italy together and when they went for coffee invited me. Why not?

Then we road into Austria together, putting on and taking off out rain jackets every 10 minutes. It reminded me of Scotland but it was warmer. We made it to the Drau river and Villach and had lunch before I went on and they stayed behind to be tourists. It was fun morning with good company!

The Drau is another cyclist packed river route that is fully signed. Its endpoint is Salzburd. I was ready to ride a few more hours but only made it about 10 more miles before the weather closed in, again! Lighthing and rain came down and I headed for the first hotel I could find. I am tired of being wet and need to dry out my gear.

My hotel is on the top of a hill looking down on a valley. It has a nice balcony. I have to admit is is a great place go watch a storm! The hotel is a traditional Austrian place that is simple, clean and resonably priced.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that the rain passes tomorrow.

The Belgians from Ghent. Thanks for a great morning ride!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Villach, Austria
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Remember me?" This man asked. "The Dutch guy!" I said. "That's right!" We met eariler in the day. Hi Dutch guy!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from my hotel room balcony. It was way higher than it looks in this picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 916 miles (1,474 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0