Tag 21: Opening doors - Searching for Schnitzel - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2017

Tag 21: Opening doors

I cant get the hang of the doors in this continent. I was going to say that I cant get a handle on the doors in this continent but that would sound like a bad pun and not a serious statement meant to convey my confusion, frustration and, yes, sometimes concern for the good people of Europe.

In American, the home of the free and land of the the brave, we have a set system for doors. Outer doors open out, i assume in case someone illegally yells "Fire" and there is a stampede and people can push the door open. But whatever, it is consistant. But not here. The past couple of weeks I have been endlessly pushing when I should be pulling or pulling when I should be pushing. I am brave, and free, but I seem to get it wrong as much as I get it right. I am not stupid. I think my I.Q. is at least average, maybe even higher, but this is one nut I cant crack. People of Europe, please dont yell "Fire" or you could be in for some trouble.

It was weather as usual with off and on rain. I have been trying to do laundry but right now nothing dries completely and everything stinks as a result, especially my socks. If you see me on the road dont come near me unless you have a gas mask handy. I am doing my best though.

I am in a town called Obervellech at a nice campground with a pretty good restaurant. I ordered schnitzel and it was delicious! But man the portions were HUGE! What is this, America! I got two large schnitzels and could only eat one. But it worked out okay because I dont have much for breakfast and am saving one for tomorrow. Schnitzel for breakfast? Why not!?

Tomorrow I have a big damn climb from the get go. I am hoping for better weather.

Hellooooo Austria!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riders in the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a Schmuck! Couldnt resist!
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is so much rain the road was blocked. Later I climbed a huge hill only to have a road blocked with 10 times as much water that dropped into a waterfall. Two people walked through it but me and two others thought one wrong move and it would be the end, literally. Didnt seem like some backtrabking for 25 minutes was worth the risk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That is some tidy lettuce!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool yard
Heart 0 Comment 0
Swollen river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Austrian war dead. Its been a long time, both sides had young kids caught up in a shitty mess.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 967 miles (1,556 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0