Eureka to Libby - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2022

Eureka to Libby

I arose to thunderstorms so delayed my departure for about an hour.  It was cool and damp when I rolled out, with intermittent showers for the first 25 miles.  The cool temps made for comfortable riding.  The route followed Rte 37 on the east side of Lake Koocanusa, affording fine scenery and a rolling road that followed inlets and headlands along the lake/reservoir.

Heart 0 Comment 0

For my geologist friends, these road cuts are all through Precambrian sedimentary rocks of the Belt Supergroup.  I’ve been riding through these rocks for days!

Bridge across Lake Koocanusa to the road on the western shore. I stayed on the east shore.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just before Libby Dam, I had my first flat of the ride caused by a very thin stainless steel wire that I think was part of the steel belted tire sheds that have been ubiquitous on the shoulders of most highways.  After about 1/2 hour, I was on my way again. 

Libby Dam
Heart 0 Comment 0

The remaining 15 miles to Libby were mostly downhill along the Kootenai River.

Kootenai River at Libby
Heart 0 Comment 0

After getting camp set up at Woodlands V Park, we drove to the marvelous Kootenai Falls.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,130 miles (1,819 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0