Day 9: Canton to Lowville - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2022

Day 9: Canton to Lowville

I spent a great evening with John and Cathy, among other things, rethinking my route south from here.  Cathy’s cycling friend suggested a route with less traffic that worked out well, even if it was a bit hillier.  The weather turned brilliant but still a bit cool, a big improvement over the day before. Rte 24, then Rte 812 traversed open farmland and stunning hardwood forests, and along many rivers and streams.  But it was a long day and I was quite exhausted when I reached Lowville.  My motel was suitable and I walked downtown (no more riding!) to find dinner.  Lowville has seen better days, but the Chinese takeout was good and I found a nice picnic table to enjoy it.

Much scenery like this today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great roads through the forest
Heart 2 Comment 0
That’s the Tug Hill Plateau in the distance. Fortunately, my route does not traverse it!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rock ledges in a gorge in Lowville.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Dinner in downtown Lowville
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 511 miles (822 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0