Day 7: Chazy to Malone - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2022

Day 7: Chazy to Malone

It took some hard pedaling to beat the rain today.  After a fine evening of sampling Ordovician Vineyards wine with Dave and Ann,  getting a glimpse of the lunar eclipse “blood moon,” I set off this morning under clear skies.  My bicycle, “Wolverine,” led me north on Rte 9, then west on Rte 11.  I selected this route for it’s relative flatness, good shoulders on the roads, and opportunities for services.  Beware that truck traffic was pretty heavy on Rte 11.

The route traversed rolling hills and open farmland, with many songbirds singing in the occasional woods.  Heading west, I saw ominous clouds building so I quit dawdling and made time.  I got to my lodging in Malone at 1:30 and the deluge hit at 3 pm.  I’m glad I didn’t try for a few more miles.

Tomorrow’s forecast is for more rain, but I think if I get out early, I can make a lot of progress before getting wet.  Stay tuned!

Dave among the many varieties of grapes he grows in his backyard Ordovician Vineyards.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Typical scenery on Rte 11. The St. Lawrence River is visible in the far distance. This is just about as far north as one can be in New York.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 386 miles (621 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kevin DamuthBob
Mo and I are so happy for you. Love your blog. Be safe. We push off from Astoria on June 2nd!

Kevin
Reply to this comment
1 year ago