Day 6: Burlington to Chazy, NY - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2022

Day 6: Burlington to Chazy, NY

I am not a purist.  This will become apparent later on when first Bruce and then Cheryl carry my gear (in a truck!).  The easiest way from Burlington to Chazy, NY, just north of Plattsburgh, is to cross the Champlain Islands via Rte 2 and take the short ferry ride across the lake, which is what I did.  My ride started in a light drizzle and sleepy Sunday morning traffic. It was a pleasant ride northward along the shores of Lake Champlain, then across the long causeway connecting the islands to the mainland.  I was hoping to see a lot of waterfowl in the wetlands on both sides of the road, but they did to oblige.  

During the many trips we made along this route when our son was at St. Lawrence U., I had noted several hills that would challenge a rider, but thankfully they did not materialize.  I arrived at the ferry landing in short order, paid my fare, boarded, and the ferry was underway.  So, there is 1.7 miles of this journey that I did not pedal.

It was easy flat rolling on Rte 9 to Chazy where grad student friends Dave and Ann live, next to an old flooded quarry that is frequented by geese, thousands during the fall migration.  The few tonight should not disturb my sleep.

Riding through the drizzle on Mallet’s Bay.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Folded and cleaved slate on South Hero island.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce BourgoineI knew there'd be geology!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Apple orchards, trees just in bloom, lined the roads.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is a new technique, where the trees are trained rather like vines in a vineyard.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 332 miles (534 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Janet SawyerI have family in South Hero and the Burlington area. Looks like you had another great day. I am following your adventure with admiration!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago