Darby to Missoula - Sea to Sea - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2022

Darby to Missoula

A great day touring north through the Bitterroot Valley and mostly downhill to Missoula.  The route afforded many scenic views of the valley and the Bitterroot Mountains to the west.

Morning view on Rte 93 in the Bitterroot Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the town of Hamilton, I mostly rode on the paved bike path that paralleled Rte 93, which was a welcomed break from the 5-lane, heavy volume traffic on the highway.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After a brief lunch  break, bikers Carl and John caught up to me.  I met then back in Twin Bridges on the first day of my Montana ride.  They are both doing self-supported cross country tours on fully loaded bikes.  They were faster than I was!

I met up with Cheryl in Missoula, where we navigated to friends Derric and Irma for the night and a rest day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 843 miles (1,357 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kevin DamuthLove what you are doing and so glad you are enjoying it together...safe travels!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Robert MarvinneyTo Kevin DamuthThanks, Kevin! This is much better than my first effort. We’re loving Montana! It looks like you are having a great trip - what a climb up Hoosier Pass!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago