September 15: Hotels Finally Booked - Simcoe County Loop Trail (Tour 21) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2021

September 15: Hotels Finally Booked

Despite these nagging fears... again!!

SO now I have gone and done it. Not only did I tour earlier in the summer, but now I am touring again this same very summer. And here I thought I would be tour-less in covid-ville.

Still nervous to head to Europe (our government still recommending essential travel only) because I don't want to catch anything on a flying metal tube across the ocean, or have to isolate for two weeks, which would destroy any type of proper tour, or get caught out of the country if some new variant explodes worldwide and all planes get shut down. By traveling in my own province, I can literally walk or cycle home if I have to... though that would take some time to achieve. This tour is about 600 km from home.

And yet, I still have the nagging bogeyman fears of heading 'out there'and away from the comfort of my own four walls. Some weird result of this isolation pandemic mess. Oyyy!

To ease the fears,  yesterday I booked two of the four nights (Wasaga and Barrie), though with a cancellation available to me until midnight last night. This morning when I woke up, this meant I was paying for my Wasaga Beach motel no matter what. This morning I continued to book - Orillia for tomorrow and Midland for Friday. In total I have five days of cycling and in a way I have never done one before. I will leave home early tomorrow morning and head south, drop the car, load the bike and cycle to Orillia. My counter-clockwise loop of the SCLT will have me back to my car on Monday morning or early afternoon and after loading the car I will head north to be home close to when Alex gets home. I should be there to help him with his math if need be, putting my math knowledge to use!

The actual dates for this tour kept being jiggled around due to other things to get done as well as weather considerations. After a hot and dry summer, this fall has had its share of heavy rain, so I kept a close eye on the Weather Network  - these next few days look perfect. Sunny, no rain and mid twenties temperature. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0