Gear: Boring, but I tweak this list after each tour - Simcoe County Loop Trail (Tour 21) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2021

Gear: Boring, but I tweak this list after each tour

What am I taking?

TOUR 20 was on my Cannondale set up with both front and rear racks. I loaded my Arkel EXR-38 panniers and tried them on the back and finished on the front. On top of the rear rack was my Arkel TailRider. Excellent setup.

Though everything went well, I wanted to change things up a wee bit this time. I will be taking my Cannondale yet again,  but for this tour I have removed the racks. Instead, I have installed the quick release skewer for my trailer and will pull my BOB trailer. In it will be my MEC duffle bag, with a waterproof liner, then my gear still individually wrapped in plastic bags - just in case it rains.

I have toured with the trailer before, notably in Cuba in 2009, and from Istanbul to Lisbon in 2003. Yes, there is the added weight of the trailer, but the centre of gravity is very low,  and it tracks so well, that I hardly feel it behind me. It was really obvious on steep descents when my speed increased and the trailer kept pushing from behind.  The SCLT, for the most part, should not be that steep, so I don't expect a problem. Thus, in effect, this tour with the trailer winds itself through those other tours in the past, tying everything together like a Doctor Who timeline.

So, the bike, trailer and bag are the main parts of gear. The rest will be the same as earlier this summer. Etrex 30 GPS for navigation, a flew tools and spare parts in case of failure on the road, the clothes on my back, and a few other bits and bobs.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0