I made it to Colorado - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

October 29, 2022

I made it to Colorado

Amtrak to Glenwood Springs

After an okay sleep in my roomette, I awake to see we are travelling through the southern suburbs of Salt Lake City. We are late by about 3 hours but this does allow us to see more of Utah. From here I'm travelling the train route I did at the end my 2014 ride.

It's very dry in Utah and as we approach Colorado, for a brief period we pass by an area I will be cycling through in two months time to get to Moab. As we pass the small town of Cisco, a staff member on the train explains that this towns population is 2 but it has a general store. Useful future knowledge. 

Once we cross into Colorado and begin following the Colorado River, the red rocky landscape brings back great memories from my 2014 train ride.

Morning View
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very dry in Utah
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lunch while following the Colorado River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 29 hours, 3 longer than it should have taken, the train arrives into Glenwood Springs. As I get off the train, I see the same view I briefly saw in 2014.

Made it back to Glenwood Springs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glenwood Springs Amtrak Station
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Glenwood Springs
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm tired after a long ride so after a brief look around, I make my way to my Warmshower with Greg. He has a lady friend Deanne staying with him and so my evening is spent chatting to both of them while Greg attempts to smoke cook a chicken.

Greg has done one bike tour, starting from Independence Pass and riding east using the Trans American Trail across the country to the east coast.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0