Over Boreas - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2022

Over Boreas

It's a little colder this morning, even so I'm feeling comfortable climbing up to Boreas Pass on the old railroad route. 

Other than a short section of rail, information panels and a couple of closed buildings there is not much to see at Boreas Pass.

Approaching Boreas Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from Boreas Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I'm soon descending and as I pass numerous small official roadside campsites, even if they are just a space beside the road, I wish I had known about them last night. Since I'm on the Great Divide cycle route I'm looking out for cyclists. 

As I approach a cutting, a bikepacking cyclist appears. His  set-up has many items hanging off his bike, particularly his sleeping bag which looks like could easily get wet. I have considered a full bikepacking set-up but I prefer the flexibility to carry extra things and I like that all my gear is in waterproof bags. 

He like many others, assumes I'm doing the Great Divide cycle route. While he has to get back to New York next week, so he won't be able to finish his ride. Instead he is looking for ideas on where to get a ride home from. I suggest using Amtrak. 

It actually takes longer than expected to get down to Breckenridge but still it's an amazing relaxing curvy ride. As the road becomes paved, it doesn't help that the route the train took, is closed for road works. 

Descending from Boreas
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old railroad tank
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of a few cuttings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Breckinridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were once many railroads in this area
Heart 0 Comment 0

Breckenridge is busy with tourists and despite having numerous bike shops, none can help me with my pedal problem. A couple are helpful but don't have a replacement pedal I like. While many just hire bikes because their main focus is skiing. So I will keep looking.

I want my pedals to allow me to cleat in on one side and be able to ride without cleats on the other. I like not being clipped in when stopping regularly in towns or when I need the ability to bail from my bike. It also allows me to ride with non bike shoes or even barefooted. 

Using parts of the old railroad route, north of here, a cycle path travels north through a few touristy towns and around a large man made lake. Along the way touring cyclists are regularly coming towards me, as I'm on both the Great Divide route and the Trans America Trail. Since there are so many of us, other they a brief wave, we aren't stopping to chat. 

Cycle path around Dillon Reservoir
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice cycle path approaching Frisco
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's looking stormy and as I leave the busy Frisco, rain begins and settles in. So my ride to Dillon using a cycle path beside Dillon Reservoir, is just wet and cold. Despite the weather, a group of roller skiers are out presumably training for something. 

Thankfully the REI store is more helpful with my pedal issue. Still they aren't sure how to fix it. So reluctantly I will replace both pedals as I can't just buy one pedal because each pedal is designed for a specific side of my bicycle. My old pedals are the original pedals the bike came with in 2013.

The new pedals come with cleats, so I take the opportunity to swap out my left cleat, as the screws keeps randomly coming loose. This has been an issue since a screw disappeared while I was crossing Hagerman Pass. The replacement screw I got from a bike shop in Leadville, never stayed tight.

I haven't had any luck with Warmshower hosts, but one recommended the Pad, which offers hostel accommodation. Allowing me my first shower in five days but they don't offer laundry facilities. With a larger bar area than the kitchen, it feels more like a hotel. Still I have a relaxing night. 

I'm not the only cyclists as the storage room is full of bicycles, including an Adventure Cycling group, who are doing the Great Divide.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0