An idea - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

An idea

In 2014, I finished a 5 month bicycle tour in Salt Lake City, having cycled in the Northern Rockies and finally through Yellowstone. I ended this tour by taking Amtrak back to Los Angeles via Denver, so I saw some of Colorado and ever since I have wanted to return to see Colorado properly.

After thinking about the weather I realised it made more sense to spend August in the higher elevated areas of Colorado. By September, I will make my way north to South Dakota to visit the Mickelson Trail, before looping back through Wyoming to visit southern Utah during hopefully cooler October. 

After flying into Los Angeles, I'm getting to Glenwood Springs to start my tour on August 30, by using a couple of Amtrak trains via the San Francisco Bay area.

My route is about visiting as many former rail sites and national parks as I can. I particular hope to ride a couple of tourist trains in Colorado. While I'm looking forward to cycling the Mickelson Rail Trail in South Dakota. The more I learn about former rail routes in Colorado, the more potential cycling routes I'm finding.

The only place I have cycled before, that I may revisit is Yellowstone National Park. If I'm low on time I can take a short cut in Wyoming between Buffalo and Thermopolis.

While the end of my tour really depends on when I get to Cedar City in Southwest Utah. I can either get a bus to Los Angeles to fly home to Australia or cycle north to Salt Lake City and use Amtrak to get back to Los Angeles.

I will interact with a few Adventure Cycling Association Routes particularly following the Great Parks South route, parts of the Parks, Peaks and Prairies, the Utah part of Western Express and the Utah Cliffs route.

A rough estimate of my route and the time of year I will be there. Green=Rail Trail, Red=August Yellow=September Blue=October
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0