Rio Grande Trail - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2022

Rio Grande Trail

Glenwood Springs to Basalt

Because I slept in Greg's dark basement, the sun doesn't wake me, so it's nearly 9am by the time I wake. Greg offers to cook me a pastry lunch, so I will take the opportunity to collect some items I need, from around town.

While finding a USB power plug in a Target store, I stumble on cheaper options for a SIM card, that may work in my Australian 4G phone. I don't actually want to be always connected by internet but being able to contact Warmshower hosts more easily, will be beneficial.

Eventually I go with Ultra Mobile which only costs me $50 for 3 months and will give me 2GBs a month, which should be enough to check email, use Google Maps occasionally and to do other minor things. However I will leave social media and downloading podcasts to Wi-Fi. Hopefully it won't distract me to much.

I also need to find fuel for my Trangia Stove. I could buy a large tin of Denatured Alcohol or a smaller yellow bottle of Heet. Since I will be climbing soon, I will see how Heet works as I recall using it previously in America.

The Rio Grande Rail Trail follows one of two former railroad routes between Glenwood Springs and Aspen. The other longer abandoned railroad formation is now used by the main highway.

It's a beautiful but warm ride leaving Glenwood Springs on Sunday afternoon as the trail gradually climbs at a railway grade through a red gorge. The noisy highway is mostly nearby, along with the Roaring Fork River.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sign in Carbondale
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Carbondale, the temperature thankfully drops but unfortunately an overcast headwind makes it feel like a slower ride. Which takes away from the trail finally being away from the highway as it passes through a nature reserve.

So it's dusk by the time I make it to the edge of the town of Basalt. For some reason the only drinking water fountain on the trail is out of service. Thankfully I just have enough water to cook my pasta dinner.

Across the road from the trailhead is the Basalt High School which has a few sport fields. The baseball field will do for a quiet dark place to sleep.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0