Coast Starlight to San Jose - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2022

Coast Starlight to San Jose

Experiencing being able to putt my bike on Amtrak

For my short ride to Union Station, it's strange cycling on the right side of the road, as I haven't been on this side of the road for a few years. While it feels humid already before 9am, as I pass a few unfamiliar signs.

As I walk onto a low platform, the large two storey Amtrak Carriages tower way above me. I realise I forgot just how large the Amtrak carriages are.

Trains are much larger than in Australia
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's my first time being able to just drop my bicycle onto an Amtrak train, rather than previously where I had to box it. It works really well, with staff loading my bike into the luggage car. I was impressed by how efficient it was.  The only downside is having to take all my bags off my bike, which I then store on the train.

Another cyclist is loading his recumbent bicycle to travel overnight all the way to Seattle before cycling the Pacific Coast back. While I'm only going for a day ride to San Jose.

It's great to just spend the day sitting in the observation car, watching the landscape pass by. While there are some nice coastal views of the Pacific Ocean, the highlight of the day is the climb north of San Luis Obispo as the train snakes its way up a mountain.

I have great observation car memories from past train trips
Heart 1 Comment 0
Santa Barbara Station
Heart 2 Comment 0
First half of the ride, we are beside the Pacific Ocean
Heart 2 Comment 0
Climbing after San Luis Obispo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Collecting my bike at San Jose Station
Heart 3 Comment 0

After a long day, I'm off the train in San Jose and my bike is waiting for me, having been unloaded for me.

I'm staying with a warmshower host nearby and as I arrive, Dean mentions his girlfriend has Covid. I now recall receiving this message just as I flew out of Sydney. However some how I thought it was from another host.

Thankfully Dean has a hammock in his backyard, which will do for tonight

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0