Seeing the Bridge - Following the rails - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2022

Seeing the Bridge

San Jose to San Francisco

Plenty of room for bikes on the Caltrain
Heart 1 Comment 0

After catching a Caltrain with a few dedicated bike spots on board from San Jose to San Francisco. I begin exploring by following the shoreline of San Francisco, which thankfully mostly has bike lanes.

I'm passing numerous piers with a range of harbour buildings, some more historical in appearance, others still been used. Initially it's scenic before it becomes touristy with numerous tourist shops, particularly around the ferry to Alcatraz, before finally I'm in a quieter park.

I'm not the only cyclists as numerous people on hire bikes are also cycling around the bay. Slowly the Golden Gate Bridge begins to appear, the top half is covered in fog. While Alcatraz is more visible in the middle of the bay.

Main ferry terminal in San Francisco
Heart 1 Comment 0
Making my way around the bay
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a few hills, as I approach the bridge it suddenly becomes even more touristy with plenty of people around, both cyclists and walkers.

As part of the defence of San Francisco, numerous batteries were built around the headland, including many near the southern side of the Golden Gate Bridge. Sadly today, many are covered in graffiti but still are able to be climbed over. Allowing views of the Pacific on this cold windy day.

A foggy bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Remains of a battery
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I return to the bridge I'm only allowed to cross on the eastern side, using the narrow walkway which is busy with tourists and cyclists. So at times I have to suddenly stop to avoid crashing into people not paying attention, while also avoiding cyclists coming in the opposite direction. Including a few touring cyclists as this is part of the Pacific Coast cycle route.

Thankfully the further I go across the bridge, the less people there are to worry about.

Crossing the Golden Gate Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a lookout on the other side of the bridge, I'm soon quickly descending to Sausalito, which feels like a tourist beachside town. With the next ferry back to San Francisco leaving soon I won't spend time here.

In hindsight I should have waited for the next ferry 1.5 hours later and explored Sausalito.

I'm not the only cyclists on the ferry as numerous hire bikes are on board. Thankfully the sun makes an appearance as we pass Alcatraz close by. I have considered visiting Alcatraz but it looked busy at it's ferry terminal and due to covid it doesn't look as appealing. Maybe next time.

There are a few ferry options from San Francisco ferry terminal, including one that crosses the bay to Oakland to my Airbnb accommodation.

Before then, I spend some time cycling around inland San Francisco, without any real plan. As I cycle along a busy street, I spot a long line of people. A cable car is leaving from here but the long line is putting me off and anyway I don't want to leave my bicycle unattended.

As I pass a Verizon store, I take to he opportunity to ask if my 2014 flip phone still works on their network.

It doesn't, so I will recycle it.

The ferry to Oakland is quieter but still has dedicated bike spaces on board. While once away from waterfront it feels less glamourous on this side of the bay, with plenty of homeless tents.

My Airbnb room, in a small house is okay. It will do for the next two nights.

One of many homeless tents
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0