Vienna, AT - All Roads Lead To Rome - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2019 to August 18, 2019

Vienna, AT

After 2 and a half days of intense cycling on the Donau Radweg, I was finally in Vienna.

At the Schönbrunn Palace, I managed to get a ticket for specific time, later that afternoon. So I had 3 hours to walk in the gardens and just relax.

At the designated time, I went to the turnstile. There was a long queue, but I bypassed them all. The guy at the front was puzzled how I could do that. But I showed him that I was on time and he was 3 minutes too early. A good system, but I guess people are just so used to queuing.

This lake next to the Danube is used for row boat racing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another ferry that only uses water power
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free shower for all the cyclists
Heart 0 Comment 0
And free air. This chart shows correct wheel pressure for each wheel width
Heart 0 Comment 0
Johannes Kepler lived in Linz
Heart 0 Comment 0
Water skiing on the Danube
Heart 0 Comment 0
A fishing competition on the Danube
Heart 0 Comment 0
Melk Abbey
Heart 0 Comment 0
Be aware
Heart 0 Comment 0
I almost ran over this snake. It wasn't in a hurry, so I had time to stop and take a photo
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNot enough detail for an ID.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Local produce sold on the honour system
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farmers gathering
Heart 0 Comment 0
Göttwieg Abbey is very imposing on this hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Water skiing
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Traisen river was so clean, I just had to go for a swim
Heart 0 Comment 0
A music concert in Tulln (Drew Sarich & das Endwerk Orchestra)
Heart 0 Comment 0
They still have payphones in Austria and most of them still work!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spittelau incinerator in the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
And at dusk
Heart 0 Comment 0
The building on Schonbrun Hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Schonbrun Palace
Heart 0 Comment 0
An Obelix in the garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mozart was buried somewhere in this cemetery, but the location was never marked properly. This memorial is in honour of the composer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vienna Opera House
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ticket Seller for the Opera House
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saint Stephen's Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bitte
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 342 km (212 miles)
Total: 4,841 km (3,006 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0