161 Days to go.... - Canada to Ushuaia - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2023

161 Days to go....

Its the end of March....Spring is here in Edmonton. 5 Months to go. All I need now is to ifnd   agood Camera to record with. Tried a Gopro for awhile but I suck at editing. Is a phone good enough to take pictures and record a few videos?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Rachel and Patrick HugensMany people document their trips on cell phones these days. And I still carry 2 DSLR's with me. If weight is that important I would recommend a small high quality camera like the Sony Rx100. The newer models are expensive though, but you could find a cheaper older model. The next step would be to decide if you want to be able to edit your photos and video, that would probably require a small laptop computer. If you don't edit I would still recommend some kind of back-up device.
Wishing you tailwinds! Patrick
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineThough my son swears by his Gopro, for the rare time I want a video, my tablet/phone works for me. On last year's tour I used the tablet for photos, too. For day shots I think they were good (usually photo composition is more important than the tech) but could not get night photos. This last point is why I will bring my digicam on my upcoming tour. I enjoy capturing day AND night shots.

Like you, I am excitedly counting down... 31 days from today! I look forward to reading your journal - I know the tour has been a long time coming for you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brian SculacTo Rachel and Patrick HugensI really don't want to bring a laptop...or a DSLR camera. I'll practice this Summer with my Samsung phone and see what kinds of pics and videos I can get.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brian SculacTo Brent IrvineThe GoPro I had for a few months. It was frustrating trying to upload to Cloud. Took forever plus you need to do it on wifi. It just was so discouraging. And to save a years worth of video to edit when I got home? No thanks.
And hey, where are you headed in 31 days?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineTo Brian SculacMy son and I are heading to France (unless the riots continue to escalate) in August and I think he's bringing his Gopro but that's up to him. I agree with you and I don't want to spend forever editing video.

But next month I am returning to Spain and Portugal. Flying to Madrid then finding my way to Lisbon. Great weather there in April compared to the mounds of snow we still have here and might still have in 31 days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago