365 days to go... - Canada to Ushuaia - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2023

365 days to go...

2014 Surly LHT
Heart 2 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekNice bike! It'll do whatever you need it to do.
I'm riding my 2009 LHT down the GDMBr this summer.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I've been planning this trip for 7 years now. Actually, I was going to do this ride 2 years ago. Then Covid hit.... so... after a 2 year delay, and I'm not getting any younger ,Im set to ride off in 2023. I am so excited. And nervous. Will my body hold out? Can I do this? Can I learn enough Spanish? Do I have enough gear? Do I have too much gear? Is Mexico as dangerous as everyone is telling me?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kelly IniguezDo you have a photo of the bike you plan to ride? You are allowed to be in the photo, as long as you don't block the view!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brian SculacTo Kelly IniguezHow do I add photos to each page?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezWhen you are typing your journal page, right above the area for text is a bunch of blue/gray symbols. One of them is a camera. Click on that.

I find it easiest to load the photos direct from my camera. Some people transfer them to their computers for editing, then load them to the journal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jean-Marc StrydomDon't believe everything you hear about Mexico. The naysayers have probably never been there.

Spanish is one of the easier languages for English
speakers to pick up.

By the time you have passed the the USA you will have sorted out your gear. However much you are left with it will still be too much.

And yes, your body will hold out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesWritten in a friendly, helpful spirit. You are actually trying to ride to Ushuaia, not Ushaia. The u is missing in your title. Sounds like a really ambitious journey, but should be doable and interesting. Wishing you all the best of luck.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago