Day 34....Gaviota SP to Goleta - Rick's Solo Canada to Mexico Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 23, 2018

Day 34....Gaviota SP to Goleta

Great breakfast spot!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My nephew Phil!!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The day started by leaving the wind tunnel at the start park. As I left and started up a hill something happened that I don't think I've experienced before. The wind was blowing so hard from behind that I coasted while going uphill. Crazy! I usually eat breakfast(oatmeal and peanut butter) before I leave camp but I packed up and left ASAP. I went an hour or so down the road and stopped at El Capitan SP and found a great spot on the ocean and ate there.

I was able to reach Phil my great nephew who graduated from and now works for UCSB which interestingly is in Goleta not Santa Barbara.  Anyway I cut my day short and spent the night with Phil and his three roommates in their house. Phil showed me around campus which is beautiful right on the ocean and we had lunch at the Beachside Grill.We watched the world series and had a great time. Thanks not only to Phil but also Brian, Blake and Trevor.

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 1,510 miles (2,430 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Denise WatsonThanks, Phil and guys, for taking care of Rick!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago