Why I'm touring the Middle Rhine with friends - Rhineland adventure with friends - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2023

Why I'm touring the Middle Rhine with friends

Returning to Europe on a post-pandemic bike tour in Germany

A memorable dinner in a monastery in Sopron, Hungary
Heart 0 Comment 0

Freshly retired in 2017, I cycled Western Hungary to connect with my father’s Hungarian roots. 2018 found me exploring southern Bohemia and Austria’s Wachau Valley. Four friends joined me in 2019 circling Lake Constance with my solo tour in the Swiss Mittelland to explore my mother’s Swiss roots.

The worldwide pandemic in 2020 brought my European touring streak to an end. My desire to return to the European continent only grew stronger over the past three years. The pandemic waned. I needed to find the location of my next tour.

Four tours have found their way to the top of my Euro-touring bucket list: London to Amsterdam through Northern France, bike and barge from Bruges to Paris, the Danube from Passau to Budapest, and the Rhine from source to sea.

A typical view cycling the Swiss Mittelland
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have toured with many friends over the years. My Swiss tour was my first European tour with friends. It reminded me of the good times and shared experiences you have when touring with friends. I rounded off that tour with my solo tour of the Swiss Mittelland resulting in an extremely memorable combination of touring with friends and touring solo.

I revisited my Euro-bucket list earlier this year. The Rhine from source to sea was to be my 70th birthday tour in 2024. What to do with the other three on my list? I invited cycling friends to a private Facebook group to discuss European touring destinations. The Rhine floated (hehe) to the top of the list. The Middle Rhine, known as the Rhineland, from Strasbourg to Cologne was the most popular destination.

I am rethinking the 70th birthday European tour of the Rhine from the source to the sea. I am not sure what 2024 will bring. My second choice for 2024 is a 2–3-week tour along the Danube. I have a strong desire to revisit Austria and Hungary along the Danube. My 2017 tour was through inland Westen Hungary from the Austrian border, Lake Neusiedl/Lake Ferto, and Lake Balaton to Budapest.

The destination of the Middle Rhine was settled.  I began planning the details of the tour. I opted on a self-guided tour and finalized the budget and tour expectations. I presented them to the Facebook group. Cost, time, and the reality of the tour occurring thinned the herd. Six friends will accompany me on this tour.

I hope that you will follow our group as we prepare for the tour, head to Europe, and cycle the Middle Rhine over the first two weeks of July.

Tom 

Mainz, Germany, the midpoint of my two-week tour on the Middle Rhine
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's Trivia

The Middle Rhine, also known as the Romantic Rhine, is one of the four sections of the Rhine (high, upper, middle, and lower) as it flows from the Swiss Alps and the North Sea. It is home to more than 40 castles and fortresses with terraced vineyards.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0