Day 2: Rastatt – Germersheim - 35 miles - Rhineland adventure with friends - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Day 2: Rastatt – Germersheim - 35 miles

Holy headwinds, Batman!

Crossing the Rhine on a ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was an easy cycle out of Rastatt. The skies were overcast and a little cool. However, there was a good headwind that would be with us for the rest of the day.

The first 15 miles took me through farmlands and forests, something that's common in this part of Germany. At 18 miles, I faced the Rhine River. A ferry carried my friends and me across the river to the eastern shore and Neuburg am Rhein. 

He's a very nice signs for Rhine bicycle route 15. Unfortunately, they are few and far between on most the route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued to cycle north and soon encountered a German cyclist who was interested in this group of Americans cycling his hood. We had lost the Rhine bicycle route 15 signage again and looked like the lost souls we were. He gave us the most direct route to Germersheim. I somehow missed a turn and was facing an expressway. Back to Google Maps. 

It took us on a pretty straightforward path to Worth am Rhein. An Aldi sat across the street at a stoplight. It was lunchtime and seemed like an ideal place the grab a quick bite. My friends and I amused the customers as we sat on the parking lot curb and ate our lunch. 

The hotel courtyard was very peaceful and beautiful.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly after our Aldi break, we rejoined Rhine bicycle route 15 and followed it into Germersheim. The final miles were along the Rhine which we could not see since we were cycling on the land side of a levy.

Google Maps took my friends and me on a very complicated path to Hotel Germersheimer, a quaint German inn. The hotel had a restaurant  which was my friends and my dinner spot. I had the shepherd's schnitzel which was a pork schnitzel topped with marinated peppers, onions, and some sort of cubed cheese. It was the perfect ending for a windy tiring day on the bike. 

Today's Trivia

Most German towns and villages have at least one Aldi. There are about 4,100 stores in Germany. That's a hell of a lot of aisles of values!

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 282 miles (454 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0