Out of the cocoon of family - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2022

Out of the cocoon of family

Fond farewells and best wishes

"DON'T DIE, AND DON'T GET ARRESTED."

These two pieces of advice were imparted to me by an older cousin yesterday, and reiterated this evening.  I've been at my family reunion this week, soaking up as much family love and support as I can.  Both have been available in abundance, and when I pause to reflect on what an extraordinary gift that is I find myself on the verge of maudlin tears.

This evening many of us gathered to enjoy one another's company, as we routinely do at these events.  It's the last evening before the inevitable, unavoidable dispersal begins and we all return to our regular worlds.  I, of course, have a different path to travel.

I find myself buoyed by the outpouring of love and well-wishes from relatives I know well and also from those in the younger generation whose acquaintance I have only recently made.  Some are older than me, while many are only now entering adulthood (some would say they've been adults for a while, why haven't I noticed sooner?) but circumstances and geography have conspired to prevent our getting to know one another as well as I'd like.  All have expressed their support and well wishes for a safe journey, for which I am profoundly grateful.

To all of my dear, dear family, my heartfelt thanks and love.  Your love and support mean more to me than I can say.  I'll start my eastward journey Saturday morning knowing that you're with me in spirit.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Vicram KotechaBest of luck Keith! Was great to see you and thanks again for your help on the initiation!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dana PalmerSafe travels and may the wind be always at your back 😀
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Dana PalmerThanks Dana! So far so good. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Vicram KotechaHi Vic-

Thanks! Consider it a partial repayment for all the good advice and wisdom you and Flavia have shared.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago