0702 - Hitting the road - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2022

0702 - Hitting the road

Finally and at long last, an actual ride report

WELL, DAY ONE IS IN THE BOOKS.  It's been a long time coming, but it's finally here, done, and dusted.

Last night's sleep was shot through with dreams, half-awake thoughts about the coming day, and other disruptions.  I predict tonight will be rather less so.

It began well, with a send-off from my brothers and a couple cousins who are early risers.  

The Grand Depart.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The speed limit in the resort is oddly specific.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bend is pretty quiet at 0630 on Saturday morning of a holiday weekend, which suited me fine.  After a few gyrations in the resort I rolled down the hill and worked my way through town.

Bend has put a lot of effort into bicycle infrastructure: there are marked bike lanes all over town, and the drivers respect them.  Coupled with the low traffic volume, that made getting out of town quite easy.

I had views of the various volcanoes in the area (I confess that even after a week-plus I cannot tell you which ones they are, but they're pretty imposing rock piles) to keep me entertained.  Pictures when I have a better connection.  [Pictures finally added 8/21/2022.  Sorry for the long wait.]

An imposing cloud over the volcanoes to the west. Fortunately it unleashed its fury elsewhere, leaving me in peace.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two of the Three Sisters? I think.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were two possible routes I was considering: a fifty-miler that looped north then east through Redmond and Prineville, and the other, longer, that went east then north along the Crooked Canyon Scenic Byway.  As tempting as the longer route was, which was very tempting, I opted to take the shorter path.  That was partly due to the ominous forecast for rain and thunderstorms beginning around 1300 hours, and partly a recognition that I'm not yet quite in the form where I feel like I could manage 62.

Signposts evidently double as bulletin boards in the rural area between Bend and Redmond.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As matters turned out, I think I made the right choice for me although it came at a price.  The stretch from Redmond through Prineville and then east to Ochoco Lake Park where I'm camped for the evening follows Oregon Highway 162.  It's a two-lane with a 55 mph speed limit, a four-foot shoulder and, at least on Saturday of a holiday weekend, quite a lot of traffic.  So, it's not exactly relaxing riding through tranquil bucolic countryside but it wasn't a problem, either.

It did get pretty warm in the afternoon - no shade to speak of - but thankfully the day only got into the low 80s so it wasn't like riding in a broiler.

Yard art along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another yard, decorated in a different motif.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I hit Prineville just after noon, and realized I was pretty hungry, so stopped to look for a restaurant.  A sushi place was half a block off the main drag, and served up a bento box (teriyaki chicken, four pieces of California roll, rice, salad, miso soup) that provided the necessary fuel to get me to camp.

We've had rumblings of thunder and the sky has clouded over but so far only a few spatters of rain: nothing to dampen my spirits.  Depending on how the night goes, I may christen the new tent Son of Rainmaker, since up to this afternoon the Oregon weather has been spectacularly good during my stay.  After tonight, though, it may be a while before that (threat of rain and thunderstorms) comes back into play: the current forecast is for clear skies and sun for the next week or more.

While I've been sitting here another cross-country cyclist (me: "Where you headed?"  Her: "Ummmmm, east?"  Me: "How far?"  Her: "All the way?")  has arrived and is setting up her tent.  It looks as though I've struck up my first on-the-road acquaintance, after a day spent pretty much on my own.  I've let her be, for the moment, since I know what it is to be setting up camp and transitioning from riding to living for the evening.  Lots of chores and tasks that need seeing to, not to mention simple decompression.

I've also heard from John Pickett, another DC area rider who I've met a couple times.  He and two buddies are on their way west, and went through Yellowstone recently, so we should cross paths in maybe a week or two.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Just the one State so far.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire problem: 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 53 miles (85 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGreat to see you on the road. Bon journee! A couple of notes on your first day. If you ever come back and ride between Redmond and Prineville again, take the O’Neill Highway just a bit further north. It’s much quieter, and a beautiful ride. The ride up by the reservoir is terrific too.

Also, you’re camping tonight in a hallowed place with special significance to Team Anderson. 34 years ago I bought her her first bicycle, and that weekend we went for a 50 miler. The weekend after that we went for a three day bike loop, a triangle between Redmond, Prineville and Cove Palisades. Your campground in Prineville is where she spent her first overnighter on a bicycle.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott Anderson"Also, you’re camping tonight in a hallowed place with special significance to Team Anderson. 34 years ago I bought her her first bicycle, and that weekend we went for a 50 miler. The weekend after that we went for a three day bike loop, a triangle between Redmond, Prineville and Cove Palisades. Your campground in Prineville is where she spent her first overnighter on a bicycle."

That's a great story, Scott. Thanks for sharing. But it is also a cautionary tale- look where you are now. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago