0703 - Harder than I thought it would be - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2022

0703 - Harder than I thought it would be

But what a great day, anyway

I HAD THOUGHT this would be a relatively easy day.  It was just 40 miles, so shorter than yesterday, and the profile looked (to me) as if it would be "mostly easy grades with one significant climb".  That part was true, but slobbing along at 7-8 mph on 1 to 3 percent grades takes it out of me, apparently.

Before I folded the figurative tent, however, I had plenty of time to contemplate the gorgeous weather (whatever I've done to please the weather gods, I want to be sure to keep doing it because it's been stupendously good riding weather the past two days, and looks to stay that way for the next several) and equally beautiful scenery.   As a Midwesterner-turned-Easterner, the Western topography and biology are like nothing I'm familiar with.  I love the semi-arid climate, the open spaces, ponderosa pines, clear rushing mountain streams, volcanic soil, and pretty much everything else that goes with where I am.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

As with yesterday, I spent virtually the entire riding day alone.  I did encounter a couple westbound riders, and a few eastbounders zoomed past me without hardly slowing down.

My campmate from yesterday left a few minutes after me, but caught me about nine miles in.  She elected to take the road less traveled, doing a bunch of dirt roads where I stuck to the pavement.

This was my companion in the campground last night and this morning.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I took the high road (literally, at least at the point where our routes diverged) and toddled along drinking in the scenery.  About noon I found a lovely place to pull off and relax for lunch (cashews, M&Ms, and some beef sticks).  I considered taking a nap but in the end decided it would cost me time I might not be able to afford at the end of the day.

The payoff for me came with the screaming 7 mile descent from the Ochoco Pass.  Out of concern that things could go sideways in a hurry if I just let go and hollered "yee hah!" I kept my speed between 25 and 30 most of the time.

My first summit! A very modest achievement but hey, there's a sign so I wasn't going to be denied.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I'm thinking that dip in the sluice is going to affect its ability to do what it's supposed to.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a pretty gnarly piece of geology.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A panorama from partway down the descent.
Heart 2 Comment 0

BUT, from the bottom of that descent there are still a few miles to go to get to Mitchell, and they're back on that 1 to 3 percent uphill grade.  By the time I got to that part I had become concerned about my water supply so I slowed down and rationed myself.  Probably not the best approach but what choice did I have?  I'm now in "catch up hydration" mode, trying to replace what I lost during the day.

Just a quarter mile from my destination I happened on a smoothie stand that was about to close.  He took pity on me and made me a giant wildberry smoothie- just what I needed to get to the hostel.

Here in Mitchell, the best and only place to stay (as far as I'm concerned) is the Spoke 'n Hostel.  It is, in a word, AWESOME.  Jalet (rhymes with "chalet") is warm, welcoming, and really special.

A real haven.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My bunk.
Heart 7 Comment 3
Gretchen CarlsonGetting pretty fancy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gretchen CarlsonGetting pretty fancy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gretchen CarlsonThe Spoke'n Hostel is quickly reaching legendary standing among the bike bum community, and deservedly so. It is simply AWESOME.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Sited in a desanctified church, it's a haven for riders and strongly oriented to our needs.  Sleeping can be done in your own tent, their tent, or their bunk beds (linens, blankets, pillows, and towels included).  There's a common space downstairs that includes the kitchen (breakfast foods and coffee free for guests) as well as all manner of reading material, comfy old overstuffed furniture, and all the amenities you could want after days or weeks or months on the road.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Tonight there are probably a dozen or so riders in residence, mostly cross country but a few doing local tours for the long weekend.  We're chatting about bikes, our rides, and all the things you'd expect cyclists to converse about.

Among the denizens are a Swiss woman drifting west with no particular agenda, my French campmate from last night (eastbound like me), a father/son pair nearly done with an east/west crossing, a couple women doing a lightning tour to Ann Arbor Michigan, raising money and awareness for cancer research, and a few others I've not yet managed to speak to.

Down the road a quarter mile is the Tiger Town Brewing Company and Pub.  ("Buy our beer or we'll punch you in the face.")  They put out a pretty tasty Buffalo chicken salad, which I washed down with a nice lager.

Dinner over, it was time to update the journal.  Now it's time for bed.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Consecutive days without a tire problem: 1

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 93 miles (150 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 4
William OstremKeith, you're a talented writer! I liked the phrase "desanctified church" in this entry, although it's also sad when churches close.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron Suchanek
Spoken Hostel is an amazing place. Jalet and Pat have done a lot to revitalize Mitchell.
Enjoy your trip. More summits ahead in the next few days.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Ron SuchanekYes it is! I'm tempted to stay a second night but feel like that would have unwanted consequences down the road.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel AldrichKeep it coming, Keith! You write a very entertaining journal.
Rachel
Reply to this comment
1 year ago