The next few days: I'll be honest, not much happened - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

March 31, 2016

The next few days: I'll be honest, not much happened

It turned out that the evening with Stephen and Jacky really was just exactly what I needed. I felt much better the next few days as I continued south, cycling consistently with very, very little of interest happening. So much so that I'm quite happy to simply post a little photo montage here to describe these days. In the movie that's all they'll be. In fact this whole ride back to Sydney will just be a montage, if it even makes the cut, what with it really only being a prequel to the main event. So, here's some photos. Enjoy:

I saw this bat hanging from an electric pylon in the middle of the day. Incredible!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Waking up in the forest north of Port Macquarie
Heart 1 Comment 0
This guy was cycling with his dog on the back. Brilliant!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I took the ferry to Port Macquarie, which I passed through quickly this time, just enough time to admire this ibis in a tree, and move on
Heart 2 Comment 0
I took a different route south through Diamond Head National Park, which had lovely gravel roads, and two kangaroos, pictured, that didn't mind how close I got...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...so I took a selfie
Heart 2 Comment 0
I went through Taree and Wingham, then took some great quiet roads south that we'd not taken before. Really nice scenery all the way to Maitland. Nothing interesting happened except...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...I caught a leaf! A rare success at one of my favourite games, catch the leaf, this beaut of a leaf floated down right in front of me as I was going down a hill and I reached out and grabbed it. A special moment!
Heart 4 Comment 0

31/03/16 – 85km

01/04/16 – 69 km

02/04/16 – 88km

03/04/16 – 74km

04/04/16 – 120km

Today's ride: 436 km (271 miles)
Total: 48,436 km (30,079 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0