Pictures of mountains: And animals - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2014

Pictures of mountains: And animals

My travels through Kyrgyzstan improved considerably over the next few days as I broke away into the mountains and began to enjoy the spectacular scenery. The road became very bad but I was in no great hurry. And as I began to climb up my first major pass I saw a few yurts at the side of the road and the children came running towards me. 'Ah,' I thought, 'the lovely yurt kids that Ana told me about! And look they can speak a few words of English!' And indeed they could, as the little darlings ran alongside me screaming, "Give me present! Give me present!" Well, at least it was an improvement - they weren't throwing anything at me.

'Only mad dogs and Englishman...' thought Mr Cow
Heart 2 Comment 0
'Only mad dogs and Englishmen...' thought Mr Donkey
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heading further into the mountains
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a couple of days of tough but beautiful riding I reached Kazarman, a surprisingly large, sprawled-out village that allowed me the chance to restock for the long road still ahead. Just beyond it I encountered Swiss Danny, a solo cyclist coming the other way. He was on a segmented trip from Switzerland to Hong Kong, doing a bit each year and then returning and carrying on from where he left off. But he said for the first time he was going to take a lift from Kazarman for the rest of this road because it was so difficult.

A couple of hours later as I climbed another steep pass on a fast deteriorating road I began to understand why. And then I met another German couple, Uwe and Isabel, also coming the other way, and also so demoralised by the road that they wanted to take a lift from Kazarman. I guessed the way ahead was going to be a challenge!

A great camping spot halfway up a pass
Heart 2 Comment 0
I didn't do that
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back down the valley
Heart 2 Comment 0
The air was very fresh
Heart 2 Comment 0
The landscape was very green!
Heart 2 Comment 0
You wouldn't believe how many horses there are in Kyrgyzstan. Unless you've been to Kyrgyzstan. Then you would.
Heart 2 Comment 0
"Hey mum, can I play in the snow please."
"No!"
Heart 2 Comment 0
Okay, so there were some nice yurt children, these ones were very friendly
Heart 2 Comment 0
'Only mad dogs and Englishmen,,, and mummy!'
Heart 1 Comment 0
The road getting worse
Heart 1 Comment 0
Uwe and Isabel
Heart 1 Comment 0

29/06/14 - 42km

30/06/14 - 59km

01/07/14 - 61km

Today's ride: 162 km (101 miles)
Total: 21,803 km (13,540 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0