I stared death in the face: For the third night in a row - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2013

I stared death in the face: For the third night in a row

The next morning I cycled back into the centre of Kosice and looked for some bicycle shops as I wanted to buy a new front tire. I found a couple, but neither stocked Schwalbe tires and it seems they will be difficult to find now. I felt a bit foolish after spending so long in Germany and Austria where they would be easy to come by, and then deciding that I need one just as I move too far east. But, you know, I'm pretty stupid.

The centre of Kosice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sometimes men weilding chainsaws in Slovakia are actually doing delicate ice carvings
Heart 4 Comment 0
Minus three in the daytime, things are starting to get interesting now!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Only the tops of the hilltains were white
Heart 0 Comment 0
The effect was quite beautiful
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doing their best to promote tourism in Slovakia with this information board. It should really have carried the caption 'Enjoy hiking in Slovakia, there may be a hungry wolf lurking around the corner at any moment'
Heart 1 Comment 0

I left Kosice and headed north on more quiet roads through poor villages. It was a very cold day, as they all seem to be, and the hilltains all had white trees at the top of them. It looked very pretty. It was a fairly uneventful ride apart from at one point when I shifted gears my chain somehow got trapped between the small and middle chainrings. It really got itself right jammed in there:

Oh my! Thats a dilly of a pickle!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I couldn't pull it out and this was a problem that up until a year ago I would have struggled to fix, but these days I carry a crank removal tool and know how to use it, so I was able to free the chain by basically removing the whole chainset and disassembling it. It was a tedious task in the cold, but it was accomplished and I was able to continue.

Its a lovely country
Heart 0 Comment 0

As it was getting towards dusk (at half past three in the afternoon) I reached the city of Presov, the third largest in the country. As with Kosice there was a nice church and a busy Christmas market and I sat here for a while, updated my blog, and put off camping until a more reasonable hour.

There was a wild horse on the loose in Presov, but it timed its jump over that fence all wrong
Heart 2 Comment 0

I could see that there was a patch of woodland about ten kilometres out of the city along the way that I needed to go, and it looked like a great place to camp (as long as no hunters came.) But google maps is not three dimensional and as I neared the woodland the road began to climb steeply up. It kept going up like this into the woods until the lights of the city were way below me and I was up among the white trees with snow on the ground. Even in the faint light I knew it was beautiful and when it finally flattened out at the top there was an area that was perfect for camping and I decided to spend the night up high.

The ground was frozen and I couldn't get the tent pegs in but I made it work by tying the tent to my bike and panniers. I looked around one final time at the beautiful scenery and took a deep breath of the cool mountain air, and then crawled into my tent. Then the noises started. I knew for an absolute fact that there were wolves in these mountains and I became quite convinced that the rustling noises I could hear were a pack of these creatures stalking my tent. At one point I thought I heard a growl from right outside and I sat bolt upright, petrified. By chance I had some scissors in the tent and I sat there with these held up poised in one hand, flashlight and blunt penknife held together like a bayonet in the other, terrified and facing death in the face for the third night in a row. What was on the other side of that thin fabric? It seemed like this really could be the end. Goodness this movie is getting exciting isn't it?

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 10,933 km (6,789 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0