Four countries, no passport, one day: It always rains in Austria! - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2013

Four countries, no passport, one day: It always rains in Austria!

It rained all night long on my camping place on the German side of the border and, although it generously stopped just long enough for me to pack up my things, it was pouring again by the time I got back to the border point. I was not in the least bit surprised. This picture captures my mood quite well actually:

Country Number 17 - The Republic of Ostriches
Heart 1 Comment 0

Within thirty seconds of arriving in Austria I was completely soaked to the skin. I then had to cycle up a high pass on a busy road which didn't particularly lift the mood. However, on the other side of the mountain most of this traffic took a tunnel down and I took the old road, which was really fun zooming down with no traffic as the rain had let up and I was able to keep dry this time.

Then I was in the wide valley of the Rhine river again. That river looked the same as it always does; light blue-grey in colour and wide, but with man-made artificial banks that make it look more like a canal than a river. By now more snowy peaks were appearing ahead on either side of the river and the weather had become much better, with blue skies and sunshine. Austria had redeemed itself (although I was still to see a single ostrich), just as I prepared to leave and move on to the third country of the day...

Better, Austria, better
Heart 1 Comment 0

05/11/13 - 95km (61km in Austria)

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 9,164 km (5,691 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0