Finally out of Melbourne: Horse! Horse! Horse! - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2015

Finally out of Melbourne: Horse! Horse! Horse!

I did another double take in the morning. Back in the familiar surroundings of the tent it was even more of a shock to wake up and see such a beautiful face lying next to me. After so many months of waiting, we were finally together on the road, making our dreams come true. It was hard to believe. And it was much nicer weather too, a cool and clear morning, just perfect for a visit to BigW. And then there were more trails to be navigated and some small roads too, until finally, after a day and a half, we got out of Melbourne on the rail trail to Warburton.

We're out of Melbourne!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rail trail was perfect. As the name suggests, an old railway line converted into a trail, it was generally flat and had a view of the surrounding countryside with a backdrop of mountains. Such a glorious place to be cycling, and with no traffic to worry about we were able to ride alongside one another (when I could keep up) and play games. We soon started one that was inspired by a game that Dino and Suzy played during their long trip which involved being the first to spot horses. I knew that Dea loved horses, but what I wasn’t aware of was that she was an expert at horse spotting and had been doing it all her life. I was 20-0 down before I knew what was happening. “How about I get ten points per horse?” I suggested “And we better start again from 0-0”

Dea - "There's a horse, there's a horse, another horse over there."Chris - "What, slow down, wait a minute, is that a horse, no, what, wait, slow down!!!"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dea - "Horse, horse, horse, horse."Chris - "Dea! Slow down! This isn't fun!"
Heart 1 Comment 0

With the new rules I started to believe I might be in with a chance and things got interesting. I spotted some dubious ones, like the one that turned out to be a bush, but by the end of the day it was 30-17 to me. Of the three horses that I had seen first I was most proud of the one that, while Dea’s eyes were scouring the fields, I spotted being towed along the road in a horse box. Genius.

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 44,930 km (27,902 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0