Daniel's response: It's not what we deserved - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2013

Daniel's response: It's not what we deserved

Earlier today (or maybe yesterday) Mr Daniel Gillis released the following statement (to me via Facebook):

"...My silence is the manifestation of my regret that I cannot, for reasons of both confidence and money, join you. The wind and Aristotle have carried me elsewhere, namely to graduation a lease and a job. I am sorry and indeed with (sic) I could join you. Bon courage."

He didn't even have the decency to re-read his statement and check for errors, but at least it gave me the chance to use (sic) for the first time in my writing career. Well, what more is there to be said? Daniel will not be cycling across Asia with me and frankly I feel more sorry for those of you who took the time to sign my petition than I do for myself. What more can be done?

Well, I will be holding open auditions for a new cycling buddy to take on the role of my hapless sidekick. An ability to play a musical instrument and speak Turkish/Russian/Mandarin/Thai/Azerbaijani/Sign language would be a plus but not essential. The auditions will take place in the main square in Warsaw, Poland on the 9th of October at 11am. I look forward to seeing you all there.

I would also like to thank all of you who did sign the petition and to be honest, I would like to take all of you with me on my journey. In fact, that is exactly what I will do. I will buy a stupid laptop so I can update this blog and keep you all up to date and you will be my companions, dear readers, my faithful sidekicks one and all.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0