Some Prose in Praise of My Prairie Camp - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2013

Some Prose in Praise of My Prairie Camp

Glasgow, Scotland . . . I Mean Glasgow, Montana

A storm threatened last night before I crawled into my tent.  The sky darkened, the temperature dropped, and powerful winds blew in from the north.  I welcomed a thunderstorm.  I like them.  But a storm never materialized.

This morning I was awakened by the combined sounds of cattle mooing from across the lake, seagulls screeching, mourning doves cooing, pelicans squawking, a variety of songbirds cheeping and chirping and whistling and singing, and little waves lapping up onto the shoreline.  No better alarm clock ever existed!  It was like an improvised symphony of nature.

Speaking of nature, I saw a lot of wildlife on the road today.  The unfortunate thing is that they were all dead.  (A couple of snakes, three skunks--one of which was in the exact middle of the road--two raccoons, a turtle, a fawn, a porcupine, two owls, a hawk, and a largish rodent I couldn't identify--maybe a fisher or weasel--I wish I was a better zoologist.

I'd also like to mention how nice people have been to me.  Many of them have all kinds of questions about my trip and some have shared great stories about their travels.  I've had folks offer me food at campgrounds.  Motel employees have given me undeserved discounts and granted me early check-ins.  Other cyclists are fun to talk to.  Train engineers blow their horns at me and wave.  And this is the thing I like best of all:  Motorists, especially motorcyclists, give me encouraging waves or "thumbs-up" as I ride.  It happens all the time.  What a ride!!!

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,047 miles (1,685 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0