A Prelude to the Original Introduction Followed By the Original Introduction - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

A Prelude to the Original Introduction Followed By the Original Introduction

THE PRELUDE TO THE ORIGINAL INTRODUCTION

Have you ever started reading something--specifically, a bike touring journal--and then after a dozen pages or so you think to yourself, "Hey, wait a minute, I think I've read this thing before!"  That very scenario actually happened to me just last week.

I don't want YOU to fall into such a time-wasting trap.  Therefore, I'm writing this prelude in order to warn you that the following journal has been published elsewhere and it's possible, though not likely, you may have seen it before.  If a story about a 55-year old dude on his first multi-week bike tour that began in Seattle and ended at his Minnesota home, the first few days of which he rode with his son and a bunch of his son's bicycle messenger buddies, and the last 35 days of which he bumbled along through the mountains and plains by himself, sounds a little too familiar, well, you might want to stop reading right now.

Over the next couple of weeks I'm going to post my journal, a few days at a time, here on Cycleblaze.  Even though it's likely to appear among the recent entries, I definitely want to make it clear to everybody that I am not currently on a bike trip.  I repeat:  This is NOT a real-time journal, though it was originally written in real-time five years ago.  It was my very first online writing experience.   It's not a great journal.  It's a little bit weird.  It might not even be worth reading.  But I had fun writing it.  I guess you could say my idea of re-publishing it here is nothing more than an exercise in vanity.  You'd probably be right.

The only other excuse I can come up with is that the cold, snowy months are moving in and I'm feeling the urge to re-live some of my past bike tours.  About a year ago I discovered, after entering a different journal on Cycleblaze, that there is no better way to re-live a cycle tour than to sit at the computer and re-type the entire thing word-for-word.  Trust me, it's way more fulfilling than simply rereading it.  (Okay, it might not be "word-for-word."  I might add a couple of things.  I might subtract a couple of things.  I might come to realize that the writing is very amateurish.  I might end up regretting this.  Here it is anyway, warts and all.)

THE ORIGINAL INTRODUCTION  (June 8, 2013)

HEY!  IT'S MY FIRST BLOG!  Now that I've got that outburst of rookie enthusiasm out of my system, let's get down to business.

As some of you know, I am retiring after 33 years with the largest paint company in America, effective July 6th.  Since I will have a bit of free time on my hands, I thought it might be fun--not to mention challenging--to undertake an extended bicycle trip.  (Some day I'd like to upgrade that to an EPIC bicycle trip, but for now I will settle for an extended bicycle trip.)  In mid-July I will be visiting my son in Seattle for a couple of days and then begin my completely self-supported trip back to my driveway in Hastings, Minnesota.  This adventure seemed like the next logical step after six RAGBRAIs and last year's solo six day ride from Hastings to Duluth and back.  If all goes well on this trip, I hope to continue on to the east coast next summer.

It's quite surprising to me how many people, when informed of my plans, have questioned my decision making ability.  That includes my wife who was an early critic and formidable obstacle to my journey.  After weeks of "negotiating," I can now count her as one of my most ardent supporters.  Anyway, those folks who questioned my judgement helped to provide a title to this journal you are now reading.

And the supporters who have expressed interest in my trip are the reason for this blog.  I hope I can live up to your expectations.  Personally, I think my story will eventually attain the same literary importance as, say Finnegans Wake.  More likely, however, it will be just as hard to fathom and not nearly as profound.  Profound?  Not me!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonWell, the good news for me is that I never read this in the first place, Greg; or, if I’m mistaken, it’s been so long ago that I’ve forgotten..Looking forward to following along as you reminisce.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonHi Scott,
Thanks for the message, but you don't have time to read this--at least for now. You've got a tour of your own to conduct and to write about. I don't want to distract you from that.

The northwest to the midwest was nice, but it's not Mediterranean Europe.

Greg
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Mike JamisonHey Greg, it's Mike Jamison from CGOAB. We've exchanged the occasional message over there in the past. I'm looking to take my journals from CG and add them over here on Cycle Blaze for a variety of reasons (the latest forum conversation on CGOAB being one). Any advice on the best way to do that, as you did here? Simply cut and paste text and pictures by hand, or is there a less work intensive way to manage that? Basically what was your method to get that done? Thanks in advance for anything you can share.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike JamisonHi Mike,

Yeah, I get it. It's getting increasingly difficult to go over there hoping to read an interesting discussion on the forum and then finding the whole thing has been taken over by long screeds about crazy conspiracy theories and thoroughly disproven "alternative facts." And that's not even mentioning the nasty tone of some of the comments. I thought I'd be able to ignore it and just not participate in the forums at all, but I guess that's proving to be harder than I thought.

Anyway, to answer your question: Believe it or not, I re-typed every single word and re-posted every picture as if I was writing a new journal. I actually had fun copying those old journals. It brought back a lot of memories and also I was able to add a few things.

Having said that, I believe there is an easier way. You can contact Jeff Arnim, the administrator of this site, and he has a way to transfer entire journals from other sites. At least he used to.

Good to hear from you, Mike, and good luck.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Mike JamisonTo Gregory GarceauThanks Greg! I've sent a note to Jeff Arnim and am waiting for his reply, but I'm on board with the idea of simply re-entering the journal from scratch. I completely get that you enjoyed doing that with yours.

Yeah, I feel the same way about the latest salvo of "Trump is being robbed by the Deep State" on the recent forum thread. I have come really close to weighing in, as you did, but am seeing there is NO way any of the hard core Trumpers want to have a reasonable discussion in that regard. The level of belief about these conspiracy theories is beyond "fringe." It makes me feel badly because I like the CGOAB site and for the most part the community, but these crazy outbursts make it hard to feel good about being present there.

Here's a recent tidbit in regard to CG, that gave me some chills ... My wife and I rode a tour in Michigan in September, and I wrote a journal about it on CG. For the most part I tried to leave out too much reference about the upcoming election, but as there were Trump and Biden signs all over the place, I did slip in some mild notes about my distaste for Trump. Someone sent me a guestbook message mentioning the elections and hoping I'd survive it. I wrote back saying I couldn't wait for it to be done and DID specifically say I was shocked with the attitude of Trump supporters and their signage, like: "Guns, God, Country," and "No More Bullshit." A day or two later I was SHOCKED when Neil sent me a guestbook message as a reply to what I'd said, saying: "Well, it was this deplorable Trump supporter's pleasure to feature your journal this week." With a smiley face attached.

That creeped me out because he obviously takes time to peruse the guestbook messages and replies of people who post journals on the site. At best that seems voyeuristic and at worst feels like being stalked. Jeez.

OK, bill me for this therapy session. You're part of my HMO network I hope. Thanks for letting be bother you, and great to hear from you.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike JamisonThanks for sharing that story about the guestbook message you got. He popped in on an exchange I was having in one of my guestbooks recently too, which took me by surprise. (It was on the Topicwise Cooking topic, which almost nobody reads, which made it even more surprising.) It wasn't political or anything, and it was a relevant comment, but it really showed that he monitors almost EVERYTHING that goes on. Between that kind of scrutiny, and the incredibly lengthy responses he writes on the forums, and the huge number of right wing websites he cites, it's no wonder that nothing ever develops with the revolutionary, new and improved, integrated Topicwise Empire he's been promising for years.

Anyway, like you, I have enjoyed that website and I have a lot invested in it. But I'm very conflicted about whether or not I should leave. If I had another place to post my articles, and my stuff on the Hiking, Paddling, Cooking, and Bicycle Life topics, I probably would have left a couple years ago.

By the way, I did read your Michigan journal and enjoyed it -- as I do all of your journals. And I'm not going to bill you because this has definitely been a good MUTUAL therapy session.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago