Viana do Castelo (Cabedelo) - Toulouse to Porto 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2019

Viana do Castelo (Cabedelo)

Parking the bikes.

Sue and I rolled into Cabedelo yesterday, which is just across the bridge from Viana Do Castelo, and found a gem of a campground.  On the beach.  Has amenities.  And, is a short ferry ride across the river to explore the historic center of town.

So,  we decided to stay another day here.  It is also where we are going to end the cycling portion of this trip.  We are about 70kms from Porto, and from what I can gather from my research, the cycling will be along the busy N 13 coastal road.  Frankly, we have had enough of cycling along busy coastal roads.  Plus, the Portuguese drivers are not nearly as courteous as the Spanish drivers.  We also need a break.  

To be honest, I feel a little guilty that we are not cycling right into Porto.  Part of me really loves that feeling of rolling into your final destination, knowing that the trip has come to its natural conclusion.  But, we are both satisfied with this choice.  This has been a physically demanding trip, and we are looking forward to eating, walking, napping, editing the many errors in this journal, and of course jumping in the ocean.

We consider ourselves so blessed to have been able to do this trip, together.

It is scenery like this that motivated us to stay another day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Beach day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

So.  Tomorrow we take a train to Porto where we will spend three nights.  I am tasked with the important job of finding bike boxes for the return trip home.  Last year’s trip, I had to make bike boxes out of a discarded refrigerator boxes in Barcelona.

Now, I can finally get back to finishing my brother’s book.

A little selfish family promotion can’t hurt.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Until then.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGood decision. Sounds like an excellent use of the trains. Sorry you’re at the end of the road though - I’ll miss following along.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraHi Scott. Cheers.

Whenever your tours end, I also miss following along. Sue and I spent the morning here walking to Porto’s various bike shops looking for boxes. Success! It’s always a crapshoot trying to find boxes at the end of a tour. Now I’m watching The Tour. Did you watch yesterday’s stage? Vars, Izoard, and Galibier.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago