Kloten (Zurich Airport) to Schönenwerd - Poking Around Europe 6.0 - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2019

Kloten (Zurich Airport) to Schönenwerd

Wait five minutes and the weather will change

Much to my surprise I had an amazing sleep last night. No wide awake at 3 AM experiences. Keith wasn’t as lucky but slept reasonably well. I woke up to those famous words ‘are you awake?’.  I couldn’t believe it when he told me it was 7:30 AM. 

The hotel breakfast at the Allegra Lodge was just what we both needed. A hot and cold buffet with one of those amazing coffee machines. My new favourite coffee is an espresso followed by a cappuccino in the same cup. Basically a jury rigged double shot cappuccino. Bliss. We met two lovely couples from the Ottawa area who were having an adventure of their own in Europe that sounded terrific. It was lovely to visit with them. 

View through the fireplace to the breakfast area.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then it was up to the room to take our things, some of which had travelled over as carry on and some which came in the bike boxes. We were both putting our stuff on the bed to pack it. 

Keith wants you to guess which side was my stuff and which side was his. This picture cracks me up.
Heart 1 Comment 5
Steve Miller/GrampiesEasy peasy, your side is the tidy one.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesMy side would never look like Keith's, because I normally dump everything on the floor in a heap. Is that a baggie of wood for your pellet BBQ? (Y'know, I blew the photo up and still can not figure it out!)

--Steve
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenHi Steve - you weren’t just trying to figure out the brand of underwear I wear - were you? Actually you are partially right ... it is fuel but not for a pellet stove. Its a bag of walnuts and raisins from Costco. We have 2 of these bags and they provide a nice snack of the road for the first few days. I was hoping to start out like last year with a bag of homemade cookies but it didn’t happen. So I just grabbed some walnuts and raisins.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Sue PriceJim says the left would be Keith's because there's something blue on it, lol! Love the packing cubes - I keep thinking I should get them and then forget about it until we are out on a tour 😳
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Sue PriceI love the packing cubes. I bought them last year at MEC. I feel like I have little dresser drawers with me. I even label them so it makes life on the road really simple. Keith uses ziplock bags and tells me that is a good thing as we will never get our stuff mixed up!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

We then put all our wet weather gear on. Keith did decide to wear his waterproof shorts with no tights. Not so me, I went with full tights and my water resistant pants over that. By the time we had our gear on the panniers had extra room and I figured if I fell I would bounce, or at least not be hurt. 

It was cold enough when we started out that I could see my breath. I was warm though. We had many kinds of weather today. I loved the forecast...”showers around”...and so they were. We had an hour or so at the start that was dry, and then a squall blew through and we took refuge under an overhang. It hailed lightly at this point too. After that the rain stopped and we were riding in sunshine, then it was overcast, then it rained  and so it went all day. There was far more overcast with no rain or actual sunshine than rain, but it did happen. We needed to seek shelter a second time when there was more rain and light hail. The weather wasn’t the main event though, the scenery was. It was a beautiful, beautiful ride. 

Full on rainwear. I love my new booties. They worked like a charm.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coming up through farmland. Look at the sky and you can see how the weather depended on where you were.
Heart 4 Comment 0
We came around a corner and boom, this view. Imagine this terrace on a sunny day. It was closed today as it is Sunday.
Heart 5 Comment 0

We rode through Baden which was just beautiful. So beautiful that we stopped there for our picnic lunch. Baden is famous for its thermal baths. The car free old town was gorgeous. 

Looking down from our picnic spot.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We had just finished lunch on the bench and it started sprinkling. Perfect timing. Off we went.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We dropped down to the river and enjoyed the riverside path. We are on the Swiss National Route 5 which runs in a southwest direction from Romanshorn at the Bodensee (Lake Constance) to Geneva on Lac Léman (Lake Geneva). It is called the Mittelland Route and is incredibly well signed. At one point the Chief Navigator actually turned his GPS off to save power on his phone. That gives you an idea. Usually he plugs in an external battery.  

We both felt surprisingly well on the ride despite our colds. Perhaps we should jump on the bikes and ride more often at home when we are under the weather instead of languishing on the couch!

Hard pruning made these trees look like sculptures.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trail side companion.
Heart 2 Comment 0
He had friends.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Absolutely the cutest cyclist we have ever seen. We love his rain gear. He made our day. We figure the serious look was the result of us speaking to him in a completely foreign language. After all, he is just learning to speak Swiss German.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Shortly after meeting the cute cyclist we arrived in Aarau. What a charming town. We rode up into town and did a quick tour before finding our hotel which is about four km further along the route. We are warm and comfortable and have both enjoyed long hot showers.  

Atmospheric old car free street in Aarau.
Heart 5 Comment 0
We aren’t the only ones out on our bikes today. Actually, the number of people out enjoying Sunday walking, biking and hiking was a real surprise. There were lots of people out and about despite the less than ideal weather.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another view of Aarau.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from our window of the local bike shop.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Now we have wined (me) and dined (both of us) and are fading fast. Tomorrow is another adventure and we are looking forward to it. Keith is worried he is going to keep me awake coughing but I am pulling out the earplugs 👍.  It was an absolutely wonderful day. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

https://www.relive.cc/view/2325766628

Today's ride: 76 km (47 miles)
Total: 76 km (47 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonGlad you are doing better. Hopefully the weather will get better and Keith will start doing better.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenThanks Scott... taking a day off the the bikes to recoup and explore the town of Aarau.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonLoving your journal and that you are enjoying it all, rain or shine. We rode the same route through Switzerland on our way from Munich to the Med several years ago. I am traveling with you vicariously. Wishing you a great trip.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenThanks Suzanne for your note. Very nice to hear from you. I found your 2006 journal of your trip and have read a portion of it this morning. It will be very useful to us. All the best to you and Janos.
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago