Day 151 - Echague, Isabela to Maddela, Quirino via Jones and San Agustin - The Man Who Cycled The Philippines - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2019

Day 151 - Echague, Isabela to Maddela, Quirino via Jones and San Agustin

60km of smooth and well-paved roads on gentle rolling hills from KM.342 MDRRMO Echague to KM.337 Ipil Junction to KM.364 San Agustin, Isabela; moderate hills to KM.387 × KM.365 Junction (right to Diffun/left to Maddela); almost flat terrain to KM.368 near Maddela Municipal Hall.

Breakfast at a small eatery near St. Joseph the Worker Parish Church; lunch at Agustin Eatery Unlimited Rice (right after the J-shaped Dalibubon bridge; and dinner at the residence of sir Bobby Tejada in Maddela, Quirino.

Red alert status as fighting between rebels/bandits and government troops escalates at the nearby town of San Guillermo--short distance away from my route for today. What else is new? Anyways, dala ko bayag ko kahit saan man ako magpunta. I checked my balls, I have 7+1... From the highway, I turned left at the Ipil Junction, the road is quite deserted...

I  wasn't able to stay overnight at the MyHomeTown Maddela(MDRRMC), which is located at back of the Maddela Municipal Hall due to lack of coordination, etc., and I got pissed off by the absurd searching questions (maybe because of my attire - it cuts both ways, really) from a nincompoopish staff of the headquarters who stared at me from head to toe and, ironically and sarcastically, introduced himself as a biker as well. Maybe he didn't like my outfit and found some flaws so that he can deny my request to pitch my tent just for the night at the headquarters.

Like those policemen in Altavas, Tudela, Balamban and Barcelona, the concept of solo and unsupported long distance bike touring is totally alien to this dickhead moron. I guess to him a cyclist is one who rides with a group, wears a styrofoam helmet, a pro kit with company logos, shoes clicked-in to clipless pedals, and looks and thinks like him - that is all there is for the pathetic ignoramus. I know you are judged by what you wear most often but I still don"t believe it makes sense to go fancy just to ride a bicycle far from home. Anyways, I"ll sleep at the residence of sir Bobby Tejada c/o fellow biker, sir Barney Hosana.

Governor's Rapids: video • https://www.facebook.com/atty.dizon/videos/pcb.1898554400273610/2227599113999014/?type=3&theater

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0