Day 30: Kirksville to Quincy - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2023

Day 30: Kirksville to Quincy

Heart 0 Comment 0

2000 miles!

Started this day anxiously as I’d struggled the day before and not had a comfortable night.

Rode to the SAG with Mark, managing fine at a steady pace. There was a slight breeze that kept the temperature down and the terrain did not roll as much. Tried to drink a lot and had some jellies at 16 miles.

Despite that I was cooked at the SAG and had to find some shade. Tried to eat a pie but the pastry solidified in my mouth. Had grapes and a Gu instead, with lots of water.  Stopped at a gas station six miles later for an iced mocha that revived me a bit, then made steady progress to mile 52 where Paula and Peyton gave me another Gu and more water.  Rode the rest of the way on half a pack of blocks. I crawled the last part of the ride from the river.

Not sure what’s happening.  Heat may be stopping me refuelling, so I keep running out of energy.

Ride was pleasant enough, with more farmland. I felt a distinct change in the air as we approached the river. Headwinds and big roads detracted from the river plain. Downtown Quincy was post-industrial but some bigger places as we climbed the hill through.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve ParkerWell done you - that is some achievement.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Hugh MonroKeep it up, clearly the heat is have an adverse effect on your ride but you’ll manage.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 2,073 miles (3,336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0