Why? - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

Why?

The first thing to reflect on is why I would try to cycle across the US.

Firstly, I wanted to do something active, and hopefully cathartic, to mark my retirement.  I’ve enjoyed cycling over the last 15 years and pedalling such a distance (~3500 miles) seemed like a demanding but realistic challenge.

I’ve always been fond of the US and its people and enjoy the complex relationship between our two countries. We like to think we are similar, but a little thought shows how different we are. US culture permeates our own with movies and music, yet ours remains distinct, and of course better, in my patriotic eyes.  As a boy I marvelled at US technological advances such as skyscrapers and space exploration, even though I couldn’t understand why you still had old fashioned places with cowboys on horses and shoot-outs in western bars. As an adult I’ve benefitted hugely from working with American colleagues, both in the US and elsewhere. Economically, politically and socially, the US influence on the rest of the world is enormous and fascinating.

My hopes for this trip have changed. First planned for 2020, it’s had to be cancelled three times, twice due to the COVID pandemic. So, my need for catharsis has passed.  I am still looking forward to testing myself physically though.  And it will be exciting to see new parts of the country away from the usual tourist destinations. Lastly, it will be good to make new friends by sharing this trial with like-minded people.

And so, hosted by Crossroads Cycling Adventures we plan to ride from Manhattan Beach Los Angeles to Revere Beach, Boston over 7 weeks between 7th May and 24th June. I will record the trip on this blog. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 0