Inverness to Brooksville - Rose Pedals in Florida - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2021

Inverness to Brooksville

Let's finish with Sushi!

Both of us were up at a reasonable hour and went down for breakfast.

Free hotel breakfast that includes make your own waffles will always have my signature creative twist.

Today was no exception. Rainbow sprinkles waffles with peach yogurt. Yum!

Matt said they looked like unicorn droppings and I'd have to agree. Lol.

We packed up our gear and headed out mid morning. Google cycling maps had us going down Trail 13. That'd be 30' of pavement, followed by 100' hard packed dirt, followed my quick sand oh my!

As I gained speed on my fully loaded steed, I hit the quick sand. I leaned forward trying to control my bike and not drop it in an abrasive sand bath, my body hit the phone.

Right at the moment of my grunting and hollering, Google cycling maps exclaimed with joy " this is how Google will sound when using Google maps!" Catching my breath and bike, I laughed out loud. Matt was seconding the perfect timing of that message. We turned back and got back onto the pavement. We rerouted ourselves via another Google cycling map option.

Pinestraw heart on Trail 13.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As we were pedaling along, we saw a Dunkin at our turn and stopped for an iced coffee.

Soon we were back on the road, turning faithfully to where Google had us go. Up ahead there was an overpass. Squinting my not so eagle eyes, I made out what looked to be the Suncoast Parkway Toll road. I said to Matt with excitement, I think the trail is up ahead!!

Sure enough, the toll road had not been opened yet, but the multi use trail was if you closed your eyes long enough to get past the big sign set off to one side. Note, I don't have eagle eyes like Matt Eagle Eyes Stevenson. He didn't notice the sign either, so we got on the path and pedaled to our hearts content.

We took a break to rehydrate when Matt wasn't feeling all that spectacular.   It was hot and along the way so we decided to pull into Brooksville for the night, right off the trail.

As we road along today, I pointed out to Matt all the places I had long boarded with my oldest son, Mick. Great memories of long ago.

Longboarding long ago on a trail in Florida
Heart 1 Comment 0

We rode up and down the little climbs along the way until we reached our destination. Hot and whooped from the day. We grabbed refreshing showers and decided to walk to dinner.

When Matt and I realized we both love sushi, we found ourselves eating at Wasabi Sushi restaurant in Brooksville that night. Deliciousness!

The Sushi Love Boat. We finished it all.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We ended our day walking hand in hand back to our destination. Great food and awesome company is a wonderful way to finish off a beautiful day on adventure!

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 229 miles (369 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0