Victoria to Seattle - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2019

Victoria to Seattle

Clipper Ferry

Wow this area has so many ferry boats! Rather than returning to Poulsbo by riding back on the Olympic Discovery Trail, I found that I could take this other ferry to Seattle instead. The one through the San Juan Islands would also have been nice, but I’m too far from the terminal. Maybe another time. Then the Kingston Fast Ferry back over to Kitsap Peninsula.

Well I missed the part about the fast ferry to Kingston not operating on Sundays. Hmmm. Now I needed to stay in Seattle until tomorrow. The first two WS hosts eventually wrote back that they were out of town. It was getting to be about 4pm. I took a chance and called what turned out to be awesome hosts, Jacky and Tom. She said okay on my short notice. Their home is about 14 miles from where I was located in downtown Seattle. So off I went!

Part of the route was on the Burke Gilman Trail, which I rode on last Monday’s tour around Seattle. Just in a different direction, I think.  Jacky fed me salad and pizza and watermelon, then some herbal tea. What a great host! They have cycle toured in over 60 countries so I thoroughly enjoyed hearing about some of their experiences. I would need several days to absorb more. 

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 117 miles (188 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0