Introduction - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2019

Introduction

Welcome to my 2019 bike journal!

Seven years ago I hosted a couple from Seattle via the warmshowers site on their tour through Florida. They were great fun and encouraged me to visit them in Seattle.  Well, the time has finally arrived! They offered to let me use their house as a base of operations as I go sightseeing, hiking, and otherwise exploring the Pacific Northwest. 

Then on August 1 I will meet up with Rose to bicycle tour down the coast for five weeks. At that time, I will head home and she will continue on to San Diego, then to Arizona. This will be the first time Rose and I have toured together.

The weather is showing lows in the 50s and highs in the 70s. Perfect touring weather. It is soooo hot in Florida again this summer so this will be a welcome relief. 

We will follow the ACA Pacific Coast Route maps, camp, and enjoy the scenery. We will also be staying with warmshowers hosts, a favorite part of touring. 

I boxed up and shipped my bike by Amtrak from Jacksonville, FL to Seattle. What an easy process it was! In the past, I would have bike shops prepare, ship, and reassemble my bike. This time I did it myself. It wasn’t difficult at all and Amtrak was very efficient.

Ready to roll into a bike box at Amtrak
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Crystal HowardJust found your journal today. I’m catching up.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago