Seattle back to Poulsbo - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2019

Seattle back to Poulsbo

Prepare for side trip to Mt Rainier

After a nice breakfast of blueberry pancakes made with almond flour, Jacky and Tom rode out with me and guided me towards yet a different ferry (Edmonds Ferry) back to Kingston. They live about halfway between the two ferries that go into Kingston. This cycling route was also new for me, mostly neighborhoods, and avoided downtown Seattle.  Although my visit with them was brief, I really enjoyed hearing about their touring history. Sharing bicycle touring stories with other like-minded people is such an uplifting experience. 

WS hosts Tom and Jacky on our ride out
Heart 2 Comment 2
Judy NorrisTom and Jacky!! I had the pleasure of camping next to them at Glendalough State Park in Minnesota July 25, 2009.

https://tinyurl.com/y2xd2tov
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kim DiorioTo Judy NorrisHow cool!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Shortly after the ferry got underway a lady came up to me to ask about my trip, saying also that, from the distance, I initially looked like her sister. She mentioned WS, which I confirmed that I use, and then she said her sister is on it WS and that I could contact her if needing another host. 

Cindy picked me up at the ferry for a return to the their house. Then regrouping for a trip to Mt Rainier for a few days of camping and hiking. 

On the ferry
Heart 1 Comment 1
Crystal HowardAnother sister. Love this story. People you’ve met are wonderful
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
For both the Kitsap Fast Ferry and the Edmonds Ferry
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the morning I will pick up the rental car, have a visit and lunch with nephew AJ who is here in the Navy. Then on to Mt Rainier. It will be the first time I use my new Lifetime Senior Pass for the parks. 

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 132 miles (212 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0