Successful bike repair - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2019

Successful bike repair

Well, the universe provided today. I went to Fairfield Bike Shop, as recommended late yesterday afternoon by a local Trek shop I called to inquire about a rebuild. The Trek shop didn’t have the correct rim on hand. Not only did Fairfield have a suitable rim, Max was able to work in my repair on a busy summer Saturday morning so I can resume touring tomorrow without concern about excessive spoke tension and risk of on-road breakage. Outstanding workmanship. 

The Moss Street Paint-In art festival artists were just setting up for several blocks right along there, so I had a great way to spend my time while in the area. And with the perfect weather day, I strolled down to the waterfront, visited a couple of garage sales (bought a new, lightweight, brightly colored cycling jacket) and looked at a lot of impressive art. 

Clover Point
Heart 1 Comment 0
Low tide
Heart 1 Comment 0
Also at Clover Point
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the shoreline
Heart 1 Comment 0
A most interesting juniper
Heart 3 Comment 1
Crystal HowardBeautiful twisty trunk
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
This was at Clover Point
Heart 2 Comment 0

Had a delicious lunch at Cottage Bakery and Cafe right around the corner from Fairfield Bike Shop and, five minutes after finishing, Max called to say I was all set. The festival was getting quite crowded so, after picking up my bike, I headed on back to my hosts. 

Lunch stop today
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 101 miles (163 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonOh, what a shame! We just missed you, if we’d only known. We were in Victoria on our own CycleBlaze tour on the same day, and had a BBQ CycleBlaze meetup (see https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/victoria2019/in-victoria-setting-a-new-cycleblaze-record/). Sorry we missed you, but have a great tour!

Cheers, Scott
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kim DiorioHi Scott - Wow that would have been fun! Sorry I missed out.
Thanks for writing!
Kim
Reply to this comment
4 years ago