Around Victoria, BC - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2019 to July 19, 2019

Around Victoria, BC

After clearing Customs, I contacted my warmshowers host Todd for directions to their home. I arrived and offloaded my gear, then we walked my bike to his LBS for the wheel repair. He gave me a great orientation of places to go around Victoria while I am visiting. 

The bike shop called to say they trued my rim as well as they could but also recommended that I have the wheel rebuilt asap, as they had to make the spoke tension very high on one side and very loose on the other. Higher than the normal dishing. Wow, I am learning a lot about rims and spokes as a result of this. They did not have the parts or the time to do the rebuild right now. 

Walked to dinner at a nearby Greek restaurant. Victoria is a very walkable city. Many, many tourists are in town plus the world’s largest gathering of 1932 Fords (called Deuces) for Northwest Deuces Days is also happening. A four-day event with over 1400 street rods, 650 of which are Deuces. 

On Friday morning I picked up my repaired bike, then spent the day touring the Royal BC Museum and walking around that area. Victoria has a lot to see so I will plan to return with more time. Seems I didn’t take any photos but certainly enjoyed the exhibits. 

Todd and his wife, Shoshana, invited me to join their Shabbat dinner tonight. Interesting to learn Jewish customs that they are sharing with me.  Carolyn, who also lives there, joined in for dinner as well. 

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 96 miles (154 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Crystal HowardI’m singing Beach Boys “Little Deuce Coupe” in my head
Reply to this comment
4 years ago