8/7/19 - Cape Lookout State Park to Neskowin - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2019

8/7/19 - Cape Lookout State Park to Neskowin

The hiker/biker site last night was so peaceful with just the sound of the ocean waves. Only one other site occupied....a nice young guy named Evan who is from Seattle and also riding south. Had a nice time chatting with him yesterday afternoon.  He left before 7am. 

Normal morning breakfast and some packing up to do. 

Part of this morning’s repacking activity
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the overall scheme of cycle touring, my legs are overdue for a rest day. But in order to avoid an extra long day to meet up with Rose in Lincoln City on Thursday, I decided to ride part of the way today. The road out of the park was a long uphill followed by another one of those scary-fast descents. Brakes are definitely getting a good workout on this trip. The speed is fun but the curves make it more challenging. So glad the roads are dry. 

First stop after coming down from the Park was at Sandlake Grocery Store. They offered me their cycling visitor book to sign, which I did. 

Sandlake Grocery Store. The old guy on the right is 95 years old and as sharp as a tack.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the grocery store
Heart 0 Comment 0

This is an old store with two vintage gas pumps that appear to be still operational. So often this type of pump is decoration only. 

Functional pump
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chocolate lab at the grocery store
Heart 0 Comment 0

Stopped for lunch in Pacific City at the brew pub, as recommended by a lady I met at the post office in Tillamook yesterday. I’m seeing more and more of those sea stacks all along the shoreline. What a contrast to the Atlantic shoreline.

Lunch stop
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oregon coastline
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch I rode to Neskowin. 

I like it
Heart 0 Comment 0

A nice couple I met at an overlook on the way described the hill heading south out of Neskowin, which reassured me that a fresh start in the morning would be better than a long day when already tired.

I checked into the Proposal Rock Inn for the night. First formal lodging of the trip so far. This is a very small community. I was going to camp in the yard of a girl who hosts for a small fee, but didn’t get her address before running out of steam. By the time she got back with me I was already checked in. The bright side is I won’t have to take as long to get ready in the morning since no tent, etc. to pack up. 

Share the Road tag
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 470 miles (756 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0