8/6/19 - Garibaldi (Barview) to Cape Lookout State Park - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2019

8/6/19 - Garibaldi (Barview) to Cape Lookout State Park

Long hills

Last night I ran out of fuel for my JetBoil so missed breakfast. Fortunately was well rested and energetic enough to ride. About 12 miles later I stopped at Fred Meyer in Tillamook for more isobutane fuel and a spare presta tube. Although I have a tube, I keep passing over a lot of glass on the road shoulder. Cannot maneuver around all of it, especially with the traffic whizzing by. Not to mention trying to stay upright and straight while going uphill. My inner voice said to get another tube so I listened. 

Turns out that my lunch stop made up for missing breakfast....a delicious lunch at the Hidden Acres Greenhouse and Cafe just outside Tillamook. 

Another delicious, healthful lunch
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltLooks delicious!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Courtyard at the Hidden Acres Greenhouse and Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just a few yards off 101
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenic overlook
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a new one for me. St Peter the Fisherman
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Peter the Fisherman
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally arrived at Cape Lookout State Park after a lot of climbing followed by fast descents. What a neat place this is. My first time in an Oregon State Park. Their hiker/biker sites are just the coolest setup. Small, protected, big enough for picnic table, and with nearby restrooms. 

Tonight’s campground.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My hiker/biker campsite. First time in an Oregon State Park.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThe hiker/biker sites are GREAT and inexpensive!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Afternoon tea at Cape Lookout State Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the beginning of the path to the hiker/biker camping area is a bank of metal lockers to protect food from animals. Inside the boxes they have USB ports for charging phones. How awesome is that!

Hiker/biker campsite boxes for food storage. Also each compartment has four USB ports.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGREAT idea to have the USB ports!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
More coastline scenery
Heart 1 Comment 0

As of this afternoon I have completed 444 miles. Am hoping to end up with 1000 (or a few more) since my other three long tours were also 1000 or so. 

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 444 miles (715 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0