8/5/19 - Seaside to Garibaldi - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2019

8/5/19 - Seaside to Garibaldi

The Hostel office
Heart 0 Comment 0

Will be leaving the hostel after breakfast. 

Recognize a pattern here?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Marie, Kim, Mindy. I met them at the hostel and they stopped on their way out and asked for a photo. Note - I have on three top layers and they have bare arms.
Heart 1 Comment 0

For this morning’s ride, I had company. Daniel, a Surly cyclist who currently helps out at the hostel, offered to ride out with me as far as Cannon Beach, at which point he would turn back. We discussed touring (what else?) and he made sure I didn’t miss Haystack Rock. Oh my. Huge. Right in the edge of the surf.

Daniel rode out with me for the first eight miles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Haystack Rock
Heart 1 Comment 0
Haystack info
Heart 1 Comment 1

Further down I rode through a tunnel where cyclists push a button that activates flashing lights to alert drivers that bicyclists are in there. 

First tunnel for this trip. Glad for the flashing lights
Heart 0 Comment 0

Nice lunch at The Winery at Manzanita.  Thought about stopping to camp near there at Nehalem State Park but it was still early, the weather was nice, and other campgrounds were available down the coast. I pressed on to Barview Jetty County Park where I set up for the night. 

Just passed through on my way to Barview
Heart 0 Comment 0

The campsite was nicely secluded but still conveniently located. For being such a full park, it was actually very quiet and peaceful. I made friends with a couple of families across the way in RVs and was able to plug in to the power post over there. In return, I gave them my fire starters (yes, the same ones) and some cedar kindling. I needed to stop carrying all of that around since I’m unlikely to  build any more fires. Always pretty tired after cycling. I also gave them one of those pasta side packages that I wasn’t going to cook. 

Packed up a medium box to drop at the post office tomorrow. Making space for carrying a little more food, mostly oatmeal, tea bags, and granola bars. After not using some clothing (the lightweight fabrics) and other items for several days, they were deemed not needed. But the food definitely is needed. Same RV neighbors gave me some duct tape to seal the box. 

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 406 miles (653 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0