8/4/19 - Astoria to Seaside - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2019

8/4/19 - Astoria to Seaside

Dave and DeAnn also left this morning. 

They are touring for a year
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is John. He is heading north tomorrow. Last evening I gave him my ACA Pacific Coast Route Map 1, since I just finished up with it in Astoria. He gave me his TransAm Section 1.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the way out of Astoria I stopped by the Sunday market. Beautiful morning. 

Art, fresh produce, and baked goods abound
Heart 1 Comment 0

For today’s ride I opted for the flatter terrain of Highway 101 instead of the other route with rolling hills. Traffic was busy but not all that stressful for me. The road shoulder was quite wide most of the way. Wide enough to maneuver around the broken glass. I hope. 

Wide shoulders and some tailwinds
Heart 1 Comment 0
The corresponding, state-provided map is excellent
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entered the zone a couple miles earlier
Heart 0 Comment 0

Arrived in Seaside early afternoon. Stopped at the bike shop, my favorite kind of store. Didn’t see anything I need. The lady there, Diane(?), mentioned the hostel down the road as a good place to stay. Turns out I had it on my list. Called over there and Ed said yes, he would mark me down, and to come on over. 

Another place to explore
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bike shop in Seaside
Heart 0 Comment 0

The hostel has a lot of spaces, nearly all filled. This girls dorm room has five people.... sisters Kelly and Kristy from Coburg, Cindy from Austin (and her son, Curtis, is staying in the room next door), Lydia (originally from Romania), and me. 

Tonight’s accommodations
Heart 1 Comment 0

Brief trip to Subway for oatmeal, fruit, tea bags, and a salad. Now my panniers and trunk bag will be stuffed again. Really want to ship home some things such as warm clothes, but I keep hearing that I will still need them along the coast, especially at night. 

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 365 miles (587 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0