8/8/19 - Neskowin to Devil’s Lake State Recreation Area - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2019

8/8/19 - Neskowin to Devil’s Lake State Recreation Area

Last night’s lodging was very comfortable and it felt good to relax and catch up on this journal. Well worth the $$. After my normal campground breakfast at an outside picnic table, I went for a walk to the beach a couple blocks away. Had to see Proposal Rock since, after all, it was the name of the Inn where I stayed. 

Grateful they had room during this busy summer season along the Oregon coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Old school key
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is Jack, age 15 and very shy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Proposal Rock. Like the other sea stacks but with plant life growing all over it
Heart 1 Comment 0

The beach was nice and the shoreline homes had boulders along the lower portion of their property. Small waves breaking reminded me of the east coast in Florida. The water temperature, however, would be significantly colder. I haven’t tested it yet but it certainly keeps the air colder. On one or two occasions I have seen kids in the water. But most people are wearing long sleeves and long pants. Like me, but most likely not as many layers.

More shoreline
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small waves and cold water
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today’s ride was nice. Once I turned off 101 onto Slab Creek Road, I had the next 10 miles almost to myself. Saw only five cars, and that was shortly after I turned.  The more direct route would have been to stay on 101 but the Oregon Coast Bike Map stated, “This Route follows an old highway through some beautiful old-growth forests and farm land. The total elevation rise is the same as that on US Highway 101, but over a greater distance, which provides gentler grades and a more pleasant ride.” 

I have no idea
Heart 0 Comment 0
Triple yellow. Seems they adjusted the double lines after paving
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bus stop
Heart 1 Comment 0
Has become my snack of choice
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYum - oh yes!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Upon reaching Lincoln City I had to double back a couple of miles to tonight’s campground. On the way I found Subway for my lunch.

Rose is in the way over from Salem and will arrive this afternoon. 

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 490 miles (789 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0