Day 35: To Blue Pool campground - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2006

Day 35: To Blue Pool campground

The temperature only got down to 64F overnight. Probably the warmest night of the trip. I got on the road at 9AM after cleaning and oiling the chain. The road climbs steadily to 3748 foot Box Canyon summit which separates the McKenzie and Willamette river watersheds. A 1900 foot climb with only one steep section near the top. Easier than I thought it would be. I was in shade most of the time but it was hot when I was in the sun.

After the summit is a short but steep descent followed by some ups and downs with a downhill trend, following the North Fork of the Middle Fork of the Willamette river.

How many forks are there?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A picture of the north fork of the middle fork.
Heart 0 Comment 0

During the descent a roadie cyclist caught up to me and we rode together for several miles. He was doing a century ride starting in Eugene. Near Oakridge I stopped to cool off in the river for a while.

I cooled off at this fantastic swimming hole near Oakridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took the back road from Westfir to Oakridge (1210 feet elevation). That road has an unexpected 400 foot climb. All the roads today have virtually no traffic. Maybe one car every 5 minutes.

Office covered bridge in Westfir is 180 feet long, Oregon's longest covered bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Oakridge I stopped for groceries and snacks. I ate a pint of Ben and Jerry's ice cream. A good way to cool off and pack on the calories after pedaling all day.

Then I rode 9 miles east up highway 58 to the Blue Pool campground (1900 feet elevation). A gradual 700 foot climb with moderate traffic. The campground is in a steep shady canyon and is noticeably cooler than Oakridge which is in a wide valley.

Today had a high temperature of about 95F. Not as hot as yesterday but the day started out very humid.

Distance: 65.9 mi. (105 km)

Climbing: 3560 ft. (1079 m)

Average Speed: 9.3 mph (14.9 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 45.2 mph (72 km/h)

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,629 miles (2,622 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0